Google adds a new waiting rooms feature to Google Meet, allowing hosts to manage participant entry more securely. This virtual space lets participants wait until the host admits them into the meeting, giving hosts more control over meeting flow and helping protect the privacy of users.
Participants in the waiting rooms will get a message when they’re in the right place. The feature is off by default and must be enabled manually.
This new feature aims to protect the privacy of participants in Google Meet, especially for sensitive discussions.
Google announce the addition of waiting rooms in Google Meet.
This feature allows hosts or co-hosts to place participants in a waiting room before they’re admitted to the call.
Which helps in preventing unwant interruptions like ‘Zoombombing’ during meetings and gives hosts time to prepare before letting participants in.
As hosts and co-hosts can enable waiting rooms before meetings begin, ensuring more organised discussions with this new update.
They can also admit or deny participants and move attendees back to the waiting room if needed.
This feature also allows hosts to send one-way announcements to those waiting, making it ideal for interviews, parent-teacher conferences and other sensitive discussions.
How to Create a Waiting Room for a Meeting?
Follow These Steps :
- Go to Calendar.
- Select Create.
- Then Event.
- Add a title to the event, enter details.
- Tap More Options.
- In the Event details tab, click Add Google Meet video conferencing and Video call options.
- Turn on the Waiting Room.
- At the bottom, click Save.
- Again click Save.
Users of Google Meet can send messages to participants in the waiting room by following steps :
- Click Chat
- Then select Waiting room at the ‘to’ field>
- Enter message
- Tap Send.
Hosts can move participants between the waiting room and main room by clicking the People tab after joining the meeting.
Participants in the waiting room in Google Meet will see a message confirming they’re in the right place and will join the call soon.
As said, by default, the waiting room feature will be turned off for end users.
But, admins can change the default setting at the domain, organisational unit (OU), or group level.
This rollout of the new functionality start on 23rd October 2025, and it is confirm to be available to all users within 15 days.
Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Essentials Plus, Education Plus, and Google Workspace Individual accounts are confirmed to get this update.



